Stephen Ntim wins NPP National Chairman position

Stephen Ayensu Ntim has been elected as the new National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) at the just-ended National Delegates Conference of the party.

He polled 4,014 votes to beat his contenders.

Mr. Ntim has contested for the position on four previous occasions. The just-ended conference is his fifth time of trying.

He however served as the party’s first Vice Chairman between 2001 and 2005.

Mr. Ntim’s first attempt to be chairman of the party was in December 2005. His second attempt was in 2010 while his third attempt was in 2014. He again lost on the fourth attempt to Freddie Blay in 2018.

In 2005, Mr. Ntim lost to Peter Mac Manu, who was President Akufo-Addo’s campaign manager in the 2016 polls.

His second contest in 2010 ended in a loss to the late Jake Okanta Obetsebi-Lamptey and another loss to Paul Afoko in 2014.