Home / BUSINESS / Albert Kwabena Dwumfour is new GJA President

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour is new GJA President

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour has been elected as the new President of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA).

Dwumfour, the Head of Corporate Affairs at the Tobinco Group and incumbent National Organising Secretary hotly contested the position of President and beat the Editor of the Ghanaian Times and former General Secretary of the GJA, Dave Agbenu and journalist and communication consultant, Gayheart Mensah.

He polled 233 votes to beat Gayheart Mensah’s 181 votes and that of Dave Agbenu’s 142 votes.

There were a total of 556 valid votes cast with three rejected votes.

For the General Secretary position, Kofi Yeboah retained the position by beating new entrant, Akwasi Agyemang of Adom FM with 348 votes against 208 votes.

New entrant Dominic Hlordzi of GTV beat Mary Mensah, long time crime reporter and current Foreign and Supplements Editor of the Daily Graphic in the Organising Secretary race by obtaining 300 votes as against that of Mary Mensah’s 255 votes.

Mary Mensah wanted to switch offices as Public Affairs Officer of the GJA which she had held for two terms. .

The position of Public Affairs Officer had two new entrants Rebecca Ekpe from the GBC stock and Caesar Abagali of the Ghana News Agency in the Wa office.

Rebecca Ekpe beat Caesar Abagali in the Public Affairs position. [See full results below]

Linda Asante Agyei and Audrey Dekalu both from the GNA contested the Vice President and Treasurer positions respectively unopposed.

They are both incumbents in their respective positions and going to serve their second terms.

Over 800 members of the Ghana Journalists Association in good standing were expected to cast their ballots on Friday to elect new national and regional executives for the association but a total of 559 turned up to vote.

Watch Albert Kwabena Dwumfour’s victory speech below

Below is how the various polling stations voted to elected Dwumfuor as President

Polling Centre Dave Agbenu Gayheart Mensah Albert Dwumfour Total
Volta 4 15 23 42
Northern 3 5 1 9
Ashanti 8 5 13 26
Central 5 5 6 16
Upper West 1 4 6 11
Upper East 12 2 2 16
Graphic 18 21 14 53
Tema 3 19 6 28
GNA 2 6 20 28
Press Centre 30 40 72 142
Western 1 13 4 18
Times 31 1 3 35
Bono 11 3 4 18
Eastern 3 6 6 15
GBC 10 36 53 99
Total Valid Votes 142 181 233 556


Public Affairs

Rebecca Ekpe—362
Caesar Abagali—191

Total valid vote—553
Total vote cast—557

Organising Secretary

Mary Mensah—255
Dominic Hlordzi—300

Total valid vote cast—555
Total vote cast—559

General Secretary

Akwasi Agyeman—208
Kofi Yeboah— 348

Total valid vote cast 556
Total vote cast—559

Writer’s email: enoch.frimpong@graphic.com.gh

Source: graphic.com.gh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *