KETU SOUTH: Kpodzi – Agbogbome Electoral Area Decides

The electorates in the Kpodzi-Agbogbome electoral area in the Aflao Wego Zone of the Ketu South Municipality had elected Mr. Emmanuel Kumako Dorklu, Assembly Member, in the just ended District Assembly Elections held on Tuesday, December 19, 2023.

Hon. Emmanuel Kumako Dorklu, who occupied the first position on the ballot, won in 13 out of 16 polling stations in the electoral area defeating his 4 contenders; Pastor Cornelius Miheso, Mr. lsreal Sowalo, Mr. Bright Afatsawo and Mr. Peter Kpodo.

He garnered 1,474 out of 2,376 valid votes cast defeating his closest contestant, Mr. Peter Kpodo, who was able to bagged only 276 of the valid votes cast.

The third position was won by Mr. Cornelius Miheso, who happened to be a pastor and a former Unit Committee Chairman of the electoral area.

Pastor Miheso, pulled 266 of the valid votes. The rest, Mr. Israel Soworlo and Mr. Bright Afatsawu, pulled 204 and 156 respectively.

According to some electorates, Hon. Dorklu’s overwhelming victory may be influenced by his wealth.

They claimed that his uncle was a former Assembly Member and a large number of his family members are scattered within the electoral area.

Hon. Emmanuel Kumako Dorklu revealed that even before the ballots are counted, one of his contestants, Mr. Cornelius Miheso sent him a congratulatory message signifying his victory.
“Even before the ballots are counted, one of my contestants, Mr. Cornelius Miheso sent me a congratulatory message indicating my victory”.

Hon. Kumako further states that, to him, the whole process was free, fair and transparent.

He claimed this becomes very possible because his campaign messages were devoid of insult, an achievement he attributed to the formal Assembly Member, Hon. Collins Ababio Gakli.

Kpodzi-Agbogbome Electoral Area recorded a total valid vote of 2,376 and 85 rejected votes from a total of 2,461 votes cast.


Source: Cornelius Miheso