Don’t vote against Ken Ofori-Atta – NPP orders Majority MPs to abstain from censure vote

The New Patriotic Party has ordered its Members of Parliament (MPs) to abstain from the vote of censure against the embattled Finance Minister.

The party has thus asked the chief whips of the Caucus to ensure the order is complied with.

In a press release issued on Wednesday and signed by the General Secretary of the party, Mr. Justin Kodua Frimpong, he said the decision was taken after wider consultation with major stakeholders.

“The leadership of the New Patriotic Party, following a broader consultation and engagements with stakeholders has resolved and hereby directs all members of the Majority Caucus in Parliament to abstain from a scheduled vote of censure being sought by the Minority Caucus against Mr. Ken Ofori-Atta, Minister for Finance.

“By this directive, the leadership of the Majority Caucus especially the whips are to ensure that no member of the Majority Caucus partakes in this exercise by the Minority Group in Parliament,” excerpts of the statement read.

Don't vote against Ken Ofori-Atta - NPP orders Majority MPs to abstain from censure vote

The release added that even though the party acknowledges the “prevailing socio-economic conditions in the country and need for urgent remedial interventions, it’s our utmost position is that the demand by the NDC-led Minority Caucus is ill-intended,” the statement added.

It explained that when a similar hardship occurred under the erstwhile Mahama administration, and demands were made for the then Finance Minister, Seth Tekper, was made, the then NDC Majority MPs defended him.

It would be recalled that the Minority Caucus have filed a censure motion against the Finance Minister.

The grounds for the motion include; mismanagement of the economy, alleged withdrawals from the Consolidated Fund, and illegal payment of oil revenues into offshore accounts among other reasons.

As a result, all NDC MPs have been instructed not to miss sittings in order to get the required number to carry out their objective.

This is according to the Deputy Minority Whip, Ahmed Ibrahim.

According to Mr. Ibrahim, there would be consequences if a member fails to show up.

“The Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak has sounded a note of caution to all Minority MPs that all the 136 MPs must be in the chamber on Thursday, so any member who absents himself on Thursday is at his own risk…On Thursday, whether we want Ken Ofori-Atta to be impeached or censored, the opportunity is being given to us,” he said in a JoyNews interview.


DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.