Akufo-Addo nominates 4 judges to Supreme Court

President Akufo-Addo has nominated four new judges to the Supreme Court.

In a letter to Parliament read to MPs by Speaker Alban Bagbin, the President indicated that the appointments have gone through the Judicial Council and also the Council of State.

The names include three current Court of Appeal judges – Barbara Ackah-Yensu, Samuel Adibu Asiedu and George Kingsley Koomson – and one High Court Judge, Ernest Yaw Gawu.

“The Council of State by a letter dated 25th July 2022, notified me of the successful completion of the consultation process. I am therefore in accordance with Article 144 (2) seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as justices of the Supreme Court,” parts of the letter read.

President Akufo-Addo in the correspondence also beseeched the House to expedite the approval process in order for the nominees to get to work as soon as possible.

“I am fully satisfied that each of these persons is duly qualified and immanently fit to discharge the functions of the justice of the Supreme Court.

Akufo-Addo nominates 4 judges to Supreme Court

“Mr Speaker, it is my respectful hope and expectation that the approval of the nominees will proceed expeditiously to enable them to assume office as soon as practicable,” Mr Bagbin read.

Speaker Alban Bagbin has since referred the appointments to the Appointments Committee for consideration and report.

This latest nomination brings the number of President Akufo-Addo’s appointments to the highest court to 15.

Source: myjoyonline.com